3150-MCM, any experienced users around here?

ckchew666

Hi guys,

I know there are a number of experience 3150-MCM user around. Pls guide a newbie here.

The application of the 3150-MCM at site:
Port 1 is to read data from the 3rd party device (Modbus), port 2 is to send data to another 3rd party devices (RS485). Should the port 1 & 2 set as slave?

Before delivering the 3150-MCM to site, we need to setup/test in our office. I've plug the module into the SLC rack and configured the correct address using the sample program from prosoft (MCM3EX1M.RSS). The ACT green LED is blinking fast. ERR1 is ON yellow color.

Without the 3rd party modbus devices here, can I use any stimulation program to test the module. I need to play around with floating point values. Can modscan 32 work with this? Any other recommended s/w besides my going-to expired ModScan32.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
CK Chew

ckchew666 said:
Hi guys,

I know there are a number of experience 3150-MCM user around. Pls guide a newbie here.

The application of the 3150-MCM at site:
Port 1 is to read data from the 3rd party device (Modbus), port 2 is to send data to another 3rd party devices (RS485). Should the port 1 & 2 set as slave?

Before delivering the 3150-MCM to site, we need to setup/test in our office. I've plug the module into the SLC rack and configured the correct address using the sample program from prosoft (MCM3EX1M.RSS). The ACT green LED is blinking fast. ERR1 is ON yellow color.

Without the 3rd party modbus devices here, can I use any stimulation program to test the module. I need to play around with floating point values. Can modscan 32 work with this? Any other recommended s/w besides my going-to expired ModScan32.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
CK Chew

Arrhhh...get it done. first the cable used is straight 2-2, 3-3 & 5-5 cable. Definetly can't work.
Secondly, used a cross cable 1747-CP3, never short the pins 7 & 8. Of course can't work!!