Not quite OT: 11 Rules All Programmers Should Live By

So true!

I also have to keep in mind that the code looks different in my eyes than it does for my co-workers.

Ya, this one is probably more applicable to Structured Text than Ladder.

The author makes an excellent point though: only the right kinds of comments are useful. When I was a brand new programmer, everyone told me I needed to comment more, so I did. I wrote in every comment box exactly what my code was doing: "If Input A or B are on, then turn on light C". I didn't understand why they still complained I wasn't commenting enough, couldn't they see everything I included?

What I learned is that the valuable comments tend to be the ones that explain WHY something is coded a certain way, not simply what it does. Comments that explain what the programmer was thinking are a lot better than comments that simply say what is going on. If you end up using what the author calls "clever code", good commenting can help your peers understand it and replace it later.

A guy that feels a compulsive need to go to the gym every Wednesday, could be wrong about comments too.

I will take issue with the minimizing writing code part.

Code must be added to handle the unexpected cases too!

Sure, minimize the code that needs to run but in the real world stuff happens. Good error handling and recovery routines are key.

34 years ago I was automating saw mill systems. There was constant pressure to make our machines run faster than the other guy's machines. However, piece count/rate wasn't all there was too it. Being able to handle wood going where it should go and being able to back up the queues to restart could make a BIG difference in production over the course of a day.