need serial to ethernet converter

ievko82

I am replacing a non functioning e.w.o.n cosy 141 that is converting serial communications of a compact logix to ethernet. Any recommendations on a new converter would be much appreciated.

The e.w.o.n. doesn't just convert Ethernet to Serial, it also gives remote access over the Internet via a VPN connection. Are you looking for something that still gives a VPN connection, or just a simple Ethernet Serial Server that will work over your LAN?

I belive a simple server would do. Honestly I'm really new to any networking stuff and I'm trying to learn all that I can.

I imagine that we used the cosy 141 with the VPN because we used to have a company that monitored the machine being run by this plc, but we no longer use their services. I simply just need somthing that will allow me to go online with the plc over our network.

There is an engineer that would possibly have to access this plc remotely if needed. Would it be wise to stick with a vpn in that case?

I imagine that we used the cosy 141 with the VPN because we used to have a company that monitored the machine being run by this plc, but we no longer use their services. I simply just need somthing that will allow me to go online with the plc over our network.

There is an engineer that would possibly have to access this plc remotely if needed. Would it be wise to stick with a vpn in that case?

The Cosy 141 can do that for you without the serial-to-ethernet step.
Like this:
Your office PC (ecatcher VPN Client) -- (intenet) -- (Talk 2m server) -- (on-site WAN connection) -- (Cosy VPN Server) -- (on-site LAN) -- (PLC)

I use Moxa N-Port 5110 serial converters.

They setup on my computer as a normal serial port, RSLinx OR the AdvancedHMI application can connect just like it was plugged into the serial port on the PC.