Explosion proof inverter?

ckchew666

Hi,

Has anyone come across an explosion proof standard inverter??

In order to use the inverter in explosion proof environment, I think we've to get the ex panel rather than the inverter, right??

Please advise.

ckchew666 said:
Hi,

Has anyone come across an explosion proof standard inverter??

In order to use the inverter in explosion proof environment, I think we've to get the ex panel rather than the inverter, right??

Please advise.

You could try Danfoss & Lenze Inverters!!!o_O

Yes, get an Ex Panel but make sure the panel is correct for the Zone classification you are working in.

check sthal ; i have seen some i.s. switchgear but i am not sure about inverters. i would go for an eexd j.b.

Kevin Jimenez said:
ckchew, What classification do you need? (i.e. Class I,II,III, Div. I,II,.?)

Hi,

I'm sory, I'm new to these Explosion proof standard. The explosion proof standard is not measure in something like Exe3?

What's the diff bet Exe3 & Class 1 Div 2 (I know most of the AB PLC has this C1 D2)

ckchew666 said:
Hi,

I'm sory, I'm new to these Explosion proof standard. The explosion proof standard is not measure in something like Exe3?

What's the diff bet Exe3 & Class 1 Div 2 (I know most of the AB PLC has this C1 D2)

Class 1 is for Gas explosion
Class 2 is for Dust explosion
Class 3 is for Fiber explosion ( Ex. fiber of cotton, etc. ):nodi:

Be careful this paper is talking about putting MOTORS in explosive areas. The inverter is in a safe area. The inverter has to be suitable for the eX rated motor with regards to preventing overtemperatures. Nearly all of our jobs involve eX rated motors and VFDs (in safe areas). If you are actually wanting to put a VFD in a explosive area then that is different and will require a explosion proof enclosure for the VFD. The enclosure and motor will have to be certified for the zone it is in and the VFD will have to be certified for use with the motor.