Determine sensor value

AMH94

Hi.

I'm new to allen bradley PLC's and PLC's in general.

I've been asked to make a program that can determine the water flow of a machine. I have a HB-therm water heater that has a flow sensor connected to it and to the PLC's DI.

My question is, how do I determine the input voltage in the PLC? I figured that's the only way to determine the flow. When the sensor is at 24v/100Hz (Which is when the flow is at it's max), the flow is at max speed (15L/min) and vice versa with 0v. From there it's a simple calculation and few functions.

Any help is appreciated, since it's a pretty big task to do, as a beginner. Thanks in advance!

This is a bit confusing you say it is a digital sensor i.e. on when flow off when no flow ?.
You cannot get the flow rate from that as I suspect there is a hysteresis on the sensor i.e. it is on when the flow is above a certain level & off when below a certain level not on when it is at say 15/lm & off when 0, it is more likely that it is on when above say 5 l/m & off when it is below 2 l/m. The only way (although not very accurate) is if you know the pump speed then for example 0hz = 0 l/m & 100 hz = 15 l/m then the flow will be sort of proportional.
So with a digital signal there is no way of accurately determine the actual flow.
If it is a pulse output i.e. from a flow meter then the pulses would be x pulses per litre, in that case you would possibly need a high speed input on the PLC & sample the number of pulses every say 1 second to get a flow rate.
More information is required on the sensor is it just a flow sensor or a digital pulse based on flow rate etc.

@parky Thanks for the quick reply!

Yes you're completely right, the sensor output is a pulse signal. I know when it's at 15/lm it's 100hz and when at 0/lm its 0hz), also I can regulate the flow and I do know the pump speed (it's visible at the heater display).