Crimson 3.0 - logging intermittently changing values

clay.float

Greetings PLCS.net Community! (y) I've been a lurker here for a little while, and I've already found tremendous value in the posts I've unearthed to help me out. I'm a total newbie to the world of industrial automation, so I'll be starting from the first rung when it comes to cobbling together functionality for things... on to today's question:

In the system I'm working on, there are a number of intermittently changing values that I'd like to be able to track. A few are manually entered on a daily basis, one is entered on a less frequent basis, and the rest will change depending on the workload of the system as it switches from one stage of operation to another. I will be logging around a dozen parameters like this, in addition to having a separate pair of logs that continuously track different environmental conditions.

Out of the box, the database was set to track these values at one sample per 60 seconds, storing the last 7 files of 1,440 samples each. This isn't optimized for our needs, so I'm changing those over to Triggered logs. Here's an example of what my proposed arrangement is for tracking changed to Parameter1:

Tag Parameter1: this will be adjusted by the user on a daily basis. On that tag, I have set Alarm 1 with Event Mode "Change of State", Trigger "Edge Triggered Event", and On Event "LOGS.Trigger_Param1 := true". I've set Alarm 2 with Event Mode "Change of State", Trigger "Edge Triggered Event", Delay "500 ms" and On Event "LOGS.Trigger_Param1 := false".

Log Parameter1: Update Type: "Triggered Snapshot", file holds 28 samples, system retains 130 files (for 10 x 13 week years; I'll deal with pulling logs off later), Log Trigger "LOGS.Trigger_Param1", Contents "Parameter1"

My Question: Is there anything glaringly wrong with how I want to set it up? Maybe there's a more efficient way, or one that makes better use of Crimson's design?

Thanks for reading!