Beckhoff TwinCAT frequecy calculation from Pulse counting module

bgtorque

Hi, any advice would be useful.
We have an EL1512 that is counting pulses from a flow meter. We need to ascertain the frequency of the pulses as this is proportional to flow and we can control from this.

Now this is a fairly dopey loop with 5-100Hz being the full range of pulse frequnecy we could expect to see.

We don't need rapid response or are looking at particularuly dynamic transient flow. We thought the best method would be to look at the time to count 5 pulses and determine the frequency from that, but i'm open to suggestions. I'm relatively new to Beckhoff, so any thoughts or examples of this would be useful and appreciated.

Thanks

seems like a decent plan.

five seem small: at 100Hz that is 50ms so the scan time, which is likely the majority of the error budget, may be an issue.

I would choose a power of two (8, 16, 32), so it's easy to test and clear (rising edge or 1 in bit 3 or 4 or 5; clear either with 0 or AND with 7 or 15 or 31).

But it's a balance between update time and accuracy; waiting for the 32nd pulse at 5Hz takes over 6s. Maybe mark the time and ordinal of the last pulse and then perform the calculation (average) at 1Hz.

What is the time source? For an A-B MicroLogix 1xxx it could accumulate the per-scan times of the 10kHz clock (S:35, IIRC).

Update: I thought the PLC would do the timing, but I see the EL1512 has a 1Ghz clock and the ability to count two channels; can the 1GHz clock feed the second counter? Maybe read/calculate the 1GHz counter increment at every flow meter pulse and maintain a moving average of the last 5?

Last edited:
Indeed, we could use the scan clock and run the cycle a number of times and see how many pulses we counted. Just not sure how to go about this, for something on the face of it that is quite simple, it has been a struggle. Not getting much joy with getting a solution from Beckhoff to be honest.