Allen Bradley Micro820 Analog Output

Robot594

Hello to all. I am new to PLC’s as well as this forum so if I make any mistakes please forgive me.

I am having an issue using the 2080 OF2 output module with the Allen Bradley Micro 820 PLC. I am trying to use the analog output current pin to send a 4-20mA signal. I understand from the data sheet and various sources that the range for 4-20mA is analog range of 13107-65535. I know how to configure the output module and the PLC. My issue lies with the code. How exactly should I put a, say for example 4mA on one of the pins? I have seen various sources use scaler and MOV instructions and ANYtoREAL instruction. However I am not measuring 4mA on the pin I am getting nothing. What kind of code should I write in order to put the mA output on one of the pins? I am simply trying to output 4-20mA on the output module. Thank you for all suggestions and I apologize for any rookie misunderstandings I may have. Thanks!

That could be the issue. With that said what is the go to method to write 4-20mA? Do I have to scale it first then the output is what goes to the pin? I guess I’m not sure what value needs to be written so that the plc can put this on the pin.

I haven't done it, but I am pretty sure the 2080 OF2 takes a 16-bit unsigned output (UINT), and scales the current signal linearly. So the output would be something like

* target_mA 327.675 target_raw_real

ANY_TO_UINT target_raw_real target_raw_uint

MOV target_uint _IO_P1_AO_00

Whether the intermediate target_raw_real is needed is TBD.

How you get to your target_mA is dependent on your process, obviously you could scale directly from whatever process calculation is required. E.g. if a valve output of 10% requires 4mA, and a valve output of 90% requires 20mA, then the conversion would be

- valve_output 10 target_mA

/ target_mA .177777 target_mA

+ target_mA 4 target_mA