You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 25th, 2022, 07:02 PM   #1
cpburke1
Member
Australia

cpburke1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4
Siemens Simatic S7-1200 / Beckhoff EK1100

Hi all,
First time posting here. I have a Siemens Simatic S7-1200 controller that I intend to use for a small project at home. I also have a Beckhoff EK1100 Ethernet coupler with a bunch of cards attached to it (digital IO, safety IO, analog inputs). I would like to use the EK1100 as a remote IO rack.
Is there a way that I can set the EK1100 as a profinet module on the network controlled by the S1200?

Hardware:
CPU: 1212C AC/DC/Relay
Beckhoff:
Ethernet coupler: EK1100
EL1809
EL2809
EL1609
EL1904
EL6021
EL3162
EL3052

Thanks in advance for any assistance that can be provided (apologies if this question has already been posted).
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 01:10 AM   #2
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 1,207
Welcome to the forum.
You will need the Beckhoff Profinet coupler, (part number BK9103) to hookup K-Bus capable devices to a Profinet IO controller such as the S7-1200. The EK1100 will not work as a Profinet device coupler.



https://www.beckhoff.com/en-en/produ...er/bk9103.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 01:23 AM   #3
cpburke1
Member
Australia

cpburke1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4
Ok, thanks for the reply.
I also have an Allen Bradley Guardlogix 5069-L306ERS2, is it possible to use the EK1100 as a generic Ethernet ip module? Or do I need to use another coupler again?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 01:37 AM   #4
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 1,207
I do not think so. For Ethernet/IP you need the EK9500.

https://www.beckhoff.com/en-en/produ...er/ek9500.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 01:39 AM   #5
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 1,207
It seems there is a successor for EK9500

https://www.beckhoff.com/en-en/produ...er/ek9520.html
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 03:14 AM   #6
cpburke1
Member
Australia

cpburke1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4
Ok great, thanks for your help!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 08:34 AM   #7
AlfredoQuintero
Lifetime Supporting Member
Japan

AlfredoQuintero is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Yokohama
Posts: 1,207
If this is for a home project, maybe you can get a raaspberry PI and buy the Codesys for Raspi license which is about 150 euros for the dongle and the license. Codesys standard license supports EtherCAT master.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2022, 07:48 PM   #8
cpburke1
Member
Australia

cpburke1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 4
Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kinco hmi siemens s7 1200 magdyhamada2002 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 17th, 2019 03:54 PM
Siemens S7 1200 plc ndrghrdr LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 9th, 2011 09:56 PM
Siemens S7 1200 driver specific addressing bennyk@37.com LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 9th, 2011 07:13 AM
SIMATIC Manager Step 7 Version V5.4 + sp1 (Siemens S7 414) pareshhjoshi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 31st, 2009 10:57 AM
Siemens Simatic s7 totok LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 26th, 2004 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


.