Ladder question. one input, two outputs

bugman746

Bare with me, Im new at PLC programming. I am using a Micrologix 1100 with RSLogix micro. I have a small oven for powdercoating I want to start.. It has a fuel solenoid and a spark start system..

I want to be able to have one input that first open the fuel solenoid then approx 2 seconds later another output will fire the spark for 2 seconds then shut off spark.

So I toggle input, out put 1 comes on then 2 seconds later output 2 comes on for 2-3 seconds (lights burner) and goes off.

Im thinking this might be accomplished with TON timer?
any help greatly appreciated..

This type of controller should be a fully approved UL device. Anything less could create a dangerous situation.
Having said that, yes, a TON timer can be used along with some Compare Greater Than instructions to accomplish this. I will not actually write or show you the necessary ladder code. The reason I will not do this is because of what I stated in the 1st sentence.

Edit:
+1 for what Bering C Sparky said in his post below.

Last edited:
Hello,
You are on the right path with your thinking but there may be a few other things to consider. Answer these few questions first so we can better assist you.

1) Is this a school or practice project that will not really be operating an actual fuel fired oven or will this program be used to operate an actual fuel fired oven in real life?

2) Is your start switch going to be Maintained or Momentary?

3) Will there be some sort of thermostat that will control the temp of the oven and if so will this thermostat be turning the fuel valve output on and off?

4) What will your "Fuel" be? (Propane, NG, Diesel, Other)

The switch configuration is important to know in order to get your logic correct for latching/sealing outputs and timers.
If you are going to have a thermostat operation the valve for temp control then it will need to be added into the logic also.