IO link compatibility

Denderiin

Hey there friends, recently discovered the world of industrial automation and learned what this fancy PLC can do so i am a super novice. Started in December 2023 with zero experience so right to the point. I have an automation direct productivity 2000 series PLC to practice and learn on, built a little home board to mess with. I am currently on to the stage of IO link and would like to know if in general PLCs take a liking to a certain brand of IO block or if you can manage with any? I notice on automation directs website they really push the stride IO block on ya. I was able to score an IFM 1400 master block really cheap with hope it would work and just wondering if this is the knowledge gap kicking in or if I'm digging into concrete. Thank you taking the time to read and helping me out !

You can use any IO-Link Master but need to ensure the communication protocol is one the PLC can use, which in your case would be Modbus TCP or Ethernet/IP. IO-Link is the protocol from sensor to IO-Link Master. The protocol from Master to PLC is one of the common industrial protocols.

The Stride master is just a MurrElektronik master and ifm is a frontrunner for IO-Link tech, either would work fine.

Okay awesome Thank you, I was able to communicate with the AL1400 using the Moneo software but for parameter settings i could not figure it out. I then tried to use the LR device software which i am unable to communicate with it even after I set an IP for the device. Once I am able to set these parameters, is there a special file I need to upload to the PLC in order for it to work? I know Automation Direct uses an EDS file with the MurrElektronik, I'm not sure if IFM would have an EDS file as I could not find it on their website for that device, I was only able to find some "Start Up" Packages mainly aimed at Siemens.
Thanks again.

Attachments

• IFM_starter_options.png
    IFM_starter_options.png
    119.7 KB · Views: 15