Help with PID_IND for Emerson CPE100

OBAKENG1997

Good day

I'm new to this PLC programming Industry but I have been working with CPE100 from Emerson to program a system logic for Waste Water Treatment plant. During this journey, I have so far been able to model and implement my logic well but I'm still struggling to work with the inbuilt PID controller (PID_IND) to regulate and change the speed of a 3 phase motor which is controlled by a VSD (speed up to 50Hz = 1500rpm).

I have an open tank that has a Dissolved Oxygen sensor which measures the volume of oxygen/liter. The tank is equipped with motor that stirs the water in order to decrease or increase the oxygen levels. So, i'm required to manipulate the speeds of the motors with a PID controller to reach the optimum dissolved oxygen levels of 1.8mg/l (SP)

I would like to ask for some assistance setting up the PID_IND gains for CPE100.

My contacts:
- [email protected]
- LinkedIn: Obakeng Tom

From what you say, it sounds like the motor speed controls the current degree of agitation of the water in the tank, and increasing agitation increase the rate of dissolution (dissolving) of oxygen into the water. Is that correct?

Is this a batch process or a continuous process? That is,

• Batch
    • water is fed (filled) into the tank,
    • when some level is reached, that water feed is shut off
    • some process or reaction occurs, during which the motor controls the dissolved oxygen (DO)
    • when the process is done, water is drained from the tank
    • the procedure repeats
  • Continuous
    • the level and quantity of water is the tank is more or less constant
    • fresh water is fed into the tank continuously at some rate
    • tank water is removed from the tank at the same rate, on average over time, as the feed water coming in
    • the process or reaction occurs continuously
    • the motor controls the dissolve oxygen according to the canonical mass balance, in this case for oxygen (O2):