You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 9th, 2004, 05:16 AM   #1
sutton
Lifetime Supporting Member
Singapore

sutton is offline
 
sutton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 74
Question How to use FIFO function using OMRON CX?

hi guys,

really need your help again.. i find it difficult not familiar with Omron software while my project schedule is so tight!
I would like to know how to use the FIFO function in Omron. my example logic as below:

When part loaded, sensor determined the first pitch is occupied. Then indexer motor go 2 pitches to pitch 3. At pitch 3 station start work.. After that part go another 2 pitches to unload station.
When no part loaded, station will not work when the pitch arrived. When there are no parts at all, the index conveyor will not run.

I wish to compare Data memory pitch 3 to determine whether station should work.
And if data memories are all zero my motor will not run.

Iím not familiar with Omron CX so I wonder how to work out this function. Can anyone help me, thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp omron.bmp (260.9 KB, 362 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 05:21 AM   #2
sutton
Lifetime Supporting Member
Singapore

sutton is offline
 
sutton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 74
I did scetch my scenario in the Omron.bmp file. please take a look. thank you so much.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2004, 11:35 AM   #3
Jay Anthony
Member
United States

Jay Anthony is offline
 
Jay Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 645
You are misunderstanding FIFO. What you need is SFT - Shift Register. Read the document and then ask questions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip sft - shift register.zip (127.1 KB, 315 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2004, 09:16 PM   #4
sutton
Lifetime Supporting Member
Singapore

sutton is offline
 
sutton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 74
Unhappy

thank you Jay Anthony. I thought FIFO is the same with Shift Register, where the first bit go in the register will go out in the last designated area. so i was wondering if i should use SFT or ASL.

I went through your instruction manual. thank you very much. i think it's very similiar to what i want. I have some questions here, hope you help me again. thanks.

For example 3, the Starting word is HR00 and the End word is HR01.

1. When 0000 is executed, and 0001 is ON, bit '1' will be shifted from HR00 to HR01. For the next execution, the bit '1'will be carried from HR01 to HR02. I wonder where the bit shifting will to the end. where is the leftmost bit of the register?

2. OOOO is executed to shift the register. do i need to DIFU 0000?
or can i use the DIFU function to run this?

Thank you very much. im still trying hard on this Omron software. thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 07:44 AM   #5
IO_Rack
Member
United States

IO_Rack is offline
 
IO_Rack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 126
Quote:
When 0000 is executed, and 0001 is ON, bit '1' will be shifted from HR00 to HR01.
HR00 is a 16 bit channel or word. If your shift instruction reads:

SFT
HR00
HR01

Then you have a 32 bit shift register shifting from HR00.00 through HR01.15.

Quote:
For the next execution, the bit '1'will be carried from HR01 to HR02. I wonder where the bit shifting will to the end. where is the leftmost bit of the register?
It will shift no more after HR01.15. The leftmost data is lost.


Quote:
OOOO is executed to shift the register. do i need to DIFU 0000?
I generally use a DIFU on the shifting (middle) leg of the SFT instruction. The state (0 or 1) of the data (first) leg will be shifted into your register when the shifting leg is executed.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 09:31 AM   #6
Jay Anthony
Member
United States

Jay Anthony is offline
 
Jay Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 645
Quote:
I generally use a DIFU on the shifting (middle) leg of the SFT instruction. The state (0 or 1) of the data (first) leg will be shifted into your register when the shifting leg is executed.
I understand why you would want to differentiate the pulse driving the step input to SFT, but at Omron that is already built into the SFT function. Unfortunately, it is not the case with any of the other Omron shifting instructions.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 09:55 AM   #7
IO_Rack
Member
United States

IO_Rack is offline
 
IO_Rack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 126
This is general practice here at our place of employment. The other reason we differentiate our shift is so we can immediately reset our data.

Shift is a DIFU.
Shift Reset is a DIFD driven by Shift.

Our data is latched.... Shifted into the register..... then immediately reset.

This prevents shifting the same data twice.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 10:02 AM   #8
chavak
Member
Malaysia

chavak is offline
 
chavak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 727
Hi Sutton,

Precicon Automation - distributors of Omron stuff in Singapore offers free user training on CX.

Give a ring and talk to either Fong Li Fen, Dexter or Wong, they offer good support.

Good Luck.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB MicroLogix 1500 PLS function Shawn Cassidy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 29th, 2009 04:44 PM
advantech with Twincat over Parker with Omron CX Supervisor rock LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 7th, 2004 07:54 PM
The KEEP function (FUN11) on omron plcs stenhar LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 19th, 2004 11:50 AM
Logic question!:( sutton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 August 21st, 2003 07:18 AM
Omron CPM1 Clock Function Clueless LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 June 25th, 2002 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 AM.


.