Producer Consumer Messging between Control Logix & Compact Logix

plcnovel

Hi All
I have a compact logix processor L35E with a built in ethernet port and a ControlLogix5555 processor with 1756-ENET ethernet module. I am trying to accomplish messaging between them based on producer and consumer model. I am trying to use an example in 1756-ENET usermanual which describes messaging between control logix and control logix, but not between control logix and compact logix. My compact logix processor is a producer and control logix processor is a consumer. I am having a difficulty in setting up my conusmer processor. How should i add my producer (Compact Logix) into my consumer (Control Logix) RSLogix 5000 program under I/O configuration. I am new to this kind of messaging, please help me out in this regard. Thanks in advance

First you have to add the ENET module to the IO configuration of the L5555.

I got ahead of myself a little. Your controller must have on board Ethernet. It might be done as a generic device?

I have not used Compact Logix before. I will have to keep up with this post myself.

RSL

Last edited:
Thanks RSL
So my RPI value should be the same in both controllers...right? What would you think a RPI value for testing purpose?

The RPI is determined by the Consumer. You must define the producer tags first. Then you will go to the other controller and define the Consumer tags. When you choose consumed for the tag type you will get extra fields that will ask for this info.

Again reread my first post, I am not sure how to add the Ethernet of your L35E.

RSL

The Consumed tags will have a field where you tell it who the producer is, this comes from the IO tree. You must have the producer in the IO tree BEFORE you can create a consumed tag array.

Read the KB document above.

You need to add the L35E as a child of your ENET card. It will be listed as 1769-L35E Ethernet Port. Once you add this to your L5555 IO Config you can create your consumed tags.