Omron CX Programmer DIFU clarification

Johnny T

Hi

I'm new to Omrons CX Programmer (although not new to PLC's in general) and I'm trying to implement a one-shot with the DIFU instruction.

I've done a search on the subject on these forums and found a bit of info on it but just wondered if you could clarify a couple of things.

Firstly, does a 'difu' have to be used as a coil or can it be used mid-rung like the -(P)- in S7 ?

Also, what addresses are valid for a 'difu' function? Can I just address it as (for instance) W10.00 etc or is there a different type of address it needs?

Please forgive my ignorance with these questions but, as I mentioned, this is my first time programmer with CX Programmer.

Many thanks for any help you can give me.

Cheers

JT :)

Cheers back JT.
The DIFU is indeed an output.
You can use a DIFU on any adress that can be accessed at the BIT level.
You will see a contact as -|| |- if its address has been DIFU'd.
There are also DIFUp, DIFDown and IMMediate refresh options on the contact reference window. Be sure not to use a DIFx as an output AND as the option selection on the reference contact.

You can also use the UP instruction mid rung, as you would a OS in AB, have not used S7, but am pretty sure this function is what you are after. I am not sure if it is available in all models though.

JT

What processor are you working with? There may be some minor differences based on that information. Also, most functions/instructions can be "difu" by using the "@"

gtsuport

Many thanks for the replies. Much appreciated.

gtsuport I'm using a CX J series PLC.

I'll try utilising a 'difu' function as an output today and see how I get on.

Thanks again for the answers,

Cheers

Firstly, does a 'difu' have to be used as a coil or can it be used mid-rung like the -(P)- in S7 ?

Yes, the DIFU instruction must be used as a coil.
You can do as you ask with the CS/CJ series PLC's but the DIFU instuction does not apply here.