Memory Addressing in a Siemens S-300 CPU (315-2DP)

Beggar

Hello.

I'm new here and new the Siemens CPUs. The CPU has no documentation and I'm a little lost on the Siemens website.

I understand how their I/O addressing works but I'm not sure how the internal memory addresses work in terms of available addresses for my work bits and data blocks.

I'm looking at the symbol table from a pre-existing program and they're using memory addresses all the way up to 200. Some are bit addresses, some are words, and some are double precision.

How do I know how many memory words are available?
Are they just sequential from 0 to the highest address?

Thanks in advance for the help.

I'm not an expert either, but I've put in a few of these & I'll try to answer your question... the number of bit memories available is dependant upon your CPU... 1028 for CPU 312, and 2048 for any other S7-300 CPU or up to 16383 for the S7-400 CPUs - check their ST-70 catalog for additional info. This limitation applies only to the 'M' bit memory & not data.

Siemens has a few different layers of memory available to use, so it can be complicated at times laying out your format...

1. Memory bits are a free-form type of memory which can be set to retentive with CPU configuration, and allow for quick access time use within the program. Addressed as M0.0.

2. Data blocks which you format to your requirements - bits, words, integers, reals - any of these can be combined in datablocks. If you do not name the data block, then you will only see the bit address in the program (not the symbol). Within the program you would address a data-bit as DB10.DBX0.0 - DB10(or Db of your choice).DBX(X denotes bit)0.0. The help file should help you address the rest correctly. Data is always retentive.