You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 16th, 2022, 07:34 AM   #1
athidi006
Member
India

athidi006 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: United arab emirates
Posts: 2
Book Factory talk SE to ME

How can i convert factory talk Site edition 5.10 application to machine edition 5.10 application..
  Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2022, 05:50 PM   #2
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
JaxGTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 987
Get in touch with AB. They converted mine for free. But I do have Tech Connect.
And of course not everything will convert. Trends and Data Log models did not for mine.
__________________
I have to use Rockwell Software!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2022, 04:00 PM   #3
durallymax
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

durallymax is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Wi
Posts: 62
A number of things from SE do not work in ME.

Last time I did one manually it was a lot working in XML until it would finally import the screen.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2022, 04:17 PM   #4
IanM8040
Member
United States

IanM8040 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: omaha
Posts: 190
most buttons and such don't convert because of how they're specified.

I was able to convert any and every shape/object on the screen though that was any type of polygon by exporting, modifying the text file and reimporting into ME.

This was for a screen where it had hundreds of polygons drawn on it for esthetics (flowers, ground markings, etc. It would have been a huge pain to recreate it).

All the buttons were not save-able though. If someone was inclined enough they could write something to convert them roughly, but it doesn't happen often enough I guess.







The simplest way I found, wasn't to go in and modify the SE. but to create a new window in ME. then open both the SE and ME in a text editor, then copy and paste the code from one to another and it will take it just fine if the option is available for it. Otherwise it will throw an error up.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2022, 06:02 AM   #5
durallymax
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

durallymax is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Wi
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanM8040 View Post
The simplest way I found, wasn't to go in and modify the SE. but to create a new window in ME. then open both the SE and ME in a text editor, then copy and paste the code from one to another and it will take it just fine if the option is available for it. Otherwise it will throw an error up.
+1 export both and compare. IIRC it will give you a hint where the error is at, I can't remember if it was a line number or description of what was invalid but I was able to slowly pluck those errors away with a text editor until the objects would come in.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Talk SE Historical Alarm database full - 10 GB limit V0N_hydro LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 29th, 2018 01:09 PM
Factory Talk view SE client configuration Benobenito LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 6th, 2015 05:53 AM
Factory talk historian SE 3.0.1/Factory talk 3.62 Santa10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 20th, 2015 11:19 AM
Deleting Cache Files for Factory Talk SE Client Abner300wsm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 3rd, 2015 07:49 AM
Factory Talk SE Backup (SCADA) randheerp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 3rd, 2012 12:05 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 PM.


.