Learning PLC using software for simulation & emulation (Virtual environment)

TheoPap

Hi guys, sorry for my english, i am new at plctalk, great forum, great threads. So i want to learn plc as qualification for job applications. I did a research about software, tutorial, books, continue doing that, but time is ticking away so i need an advise from someone more experience to direct me and start practice. To the point, besides theory i need to get hands on practice. At first i don't have the opportunity to pursue hardware, so i need a software to simulate the hardware (PLC), as possible as i have the hardware in front of me. After programming plc for specific purpose i need a software/ tool to emulate & visualize the result, something like virtual environment, virtual plant with machines & conveyors (industrial equipment). That's my point, is that possible? I know there is Codesys, Automation Studio, a software call Delmia, Siemens Environment (simatic s7, TIA Portal, WinCC, PLCSIM). Which of those software or any other are relevant to what i want to do? Thank you in advance

Last edited:
First step would be to find out which hardware/software is mainly used in your area. Look for job advertisements in your country, they will usually say which software you should know for the job.

My guess would be Siemens(Tia portal, simatic, WinCC) and then Allen Bradley (Rockwell automation, RSlogix 500/5000). Both have free trial versions of their software available.