You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 23rd, 2023, 01:09 AM   #1
Morrowgabe99
Member
United States

Morrowgabe99 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Pendleton
Posts: 1
Exclamation Powerflex 40 22-COMM-E issues

Hello all, new here. I have 16 Powerflex 40ís that I am converting from DeviceNET to Ethernet. I changed all of the Comm modules to 22-COMM-E and powered up the panel and only 6 of the Comm modules powered up. I donít get any power lights on the Modules. After playing with them for a little bit I factory reset one and pressed start let it ramp to about 6hz then pressed stop. Once it ramped down to stop, the comm module powered up for about 20 seconds (All 4 Lights were flashing, on module) then it went back to no lights. Ethernet cable is good. I used one of the good drives to test and set IPís on all of the modules so I know that all the modules and cables are good. Any help is appreciated, I would prefer to keep the hair that I have left after tearing it out on this problem🙃
  Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2023, 01:38 AM   #2
iggy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

iggy is offline
 
iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 197
That is a common issue with those drives, we have changed all of ours over to the PF520 series.
__________________
I was doing some PLC Programming on my laptop while waiting on my grandmother to get ready to go out to lunch. She says she is ready, I tell her to hold on a sec I have to find a couple of bits, she reaches into her purse and pulls out a quarter for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2023, 02:24 PM   #3
tlf30
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

tlf30 is offline
 
tlf30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Deadhorse Alaska
Posts: 131
I've not seen that exact problem before, but I am in the process of replacing 12 PF40s with 525s. The 40 are old and have a lot of problems. Some have completely stopped communicating and won't respond to plugging a laptop in. The 525s work much better.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2023, 03:37 PM   #4
JTCat
Member
Armenia

JTCat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Republic of Artsakh
Posts: 229
I concur. These 40's with the 22-COMM-E cards are junk.
Replace them with 525's. If they don't work, there's no trick to making them work.
It's a common electrical issue with those drives.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerFlex 40 - Can you use DeviceNet , but also use the Analog Output ? Cydog LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 16th, 2020 05:57 PM
Solexy ethernet I.S isolator - comm issues radfahrer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 9th, 2020 12:15 PM
PowerFlex 40 - best way to set the IP Address on a 22-Comm-E Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 1st, 2020 12:37 AM
PID loop control variable to powerflex 40 TheClint LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 31st, 2013 12:21 PM
Power a AB Powerflex 40 VFD from a Roto-phase? sbaum LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 8th, 2011 09:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 PM.


.