Allen Bradley Micro 820 PLC

Tasneem Ahmad

Hello Everyone,

Hope you all are doing well.

I am new to the PLC and communication protocols used in PLC. I am currently stuck with Allen Bradley Micro 820 PLC, trying to Read/Write tag value. I am not sure what packet needs to be send to the PLC for Read and Write operation.
Can someone please help me to understand the packet structure which is required to established CIP communication.

Thanks

Hi,

Thanks for your response.

Actually I was looking for Read/Write operation using CIP Protocol using my application which I have created to perform Read/Write operation. I have created sample application in C++ which can send the data to the PLC and receive data from the PLC. I am using same packet structure as used in Control Logix PLC for CIP Communication but it is not working as expected.
I wanted to know if there is any change in packet structure for Allen Bradley Micro 820 PLC with respect to control logix PLC.

Thanks

I am using same packet structure as used in Control Logix PLC for CIP Communication but it is not working as expected

Its a different PLC so it will not be the same, I cant help much but I am sure its not the same... just like the SLC/MicroLogix family is not the same as the CLX, the Micro800 will be different than the CLX

The packet structure is more or less the same, the connection (forward open) is slightly different between Micro800 and the Logix platform. Micro800 doesn't use a port segment. You can wireshark what pylogix does. If your C++ application can communicate with the Logix platform, then you are nearly 100% there to communicating to the Micro820.

Once you are able to communicate, strings are handled different in Micro800 than in the Logix platform. I would argue, the Micro800 did it right, Logix platform is a mess.

Hi dmroeder,

Thanks for your quick help and suggestion.

1 question I have is about local and global variable in Micro 820 PLC.