Running a Danfoss VLT micro drive using Allen Bradly Mirco850

JustinRBean

Hello everyone,

I am an engineering student who took on a project to design and build a control system for an industrial coffee roaster as my final year project. I have experience with Arduinos and Nucleo development boards but my experience with PLCs has been limited to simulation software, since my university went into hard lock-down during covid and my 12 months of practical training was cut from my course. I have been trying to make up for this by sticking my nose into local companies and asking enough questions until they let me do work for them as way of free training for me.

My strategy has been to do one thing at a time and deal with problems as they arise. My current challenge is to connect a Danfoss drive to the PLC and use Modbus RTU protocol, using the embedded serial port on the plc, to start, stop and control the frequency of the drive. I discovered this forum after a frustrating 3 weeks of late nights between exams and work, reading what seems like countless manuals. If anyone can offer guidance, I would be extremely grateful.

The above is a brief pre-amble, I will follow with what hardware I am using and the very simple program i am trying to run.

So, my first goal was to establish Modbus RTU communication, using the embedded serial RS-485 port on the plc, between the PLC and the motor drive. Once comms are working for simple commands, start, stop, speed control then I can start adding the other drives and designing the logic to control the motor speed using an encoder.

Equipment:
PLC: Allen Bradly Mirco 850
Drive: Danfoss Micro Vlt
Motor: 0.37KW 3-phase induction motor

I programmed the drive Modbus RTU parameter to the following:

[8-03] set to 60 (Control word timeout)
[8-04] set to 0 (Control word timeout function set to OFF)
[8-30] set to 2 (Protocol set to Modbus RTU)
[8-31] set to 1 (Set drive address to 1)