You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 3rd, 2021, 08:52 AM   #31
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylespetro View Post
I've been thinking about grabbing one of these for a couple of years now, they look pretty neat.
Back in the day we could not live without them https://www.mcmaster.com/cabinet-keys/

I think they are used more on the other side of the pond but if you have any equipment that was built over there its a must
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 09:02 AM   #32
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylespetro View Post
Probably not obscure at this point, but the Knipex Pliers Wrench is insanely handy, great replacement for an adjustable wrench. For those who don't know about them, the jaws open parallel instead of opening like a pair of Channel Locks, and they have smooth jaws so they don't mar surfaces. They also have an 11:1 mechanical advantage so the jaws grip much harder than you have to squeeze. Great for instrument techs working on Swagelok fittings.
I'll throw in my $0.02 since I have a set of these. It's a good tool but not a universal replacement for an adjustable wrench as is sometimes claimed. IF you have lots of room around what you're tightening (like in your pic) then it's absolutely the cat's a**, even better than an open end wrench for stubborn fasteners since it's easy to make it super tight on the flats. However, in a tight spot you have to be able to get the jaws on the nut in addition to continually opening and closing the handles. In these cases it's just as frustrating as trying to use a pair of channel locks. Plus, it can take some time to get the jaws adjusted properly since they don't have a lot of movement. I bought these thinking they would replace my adjustable wrenches but now I carry both.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 09:25 AM   #33
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyur View Post
I'll throw in my $0.02 since I have a set of these. It's a good tool but not a universal replacement for an adjustable wrench as is sometimes claimed. IF you have lots of room around what you're tightening (like in your pic) then it's absolutely the cat's a**, even better than an open end wrench for stubborn fasteners since it's easy to make it super tight on the flats. However, in a tight spot you have to be able to get the jaws on the nut in addition to continually opening and closing the handles. In these cases it's just as frustrating as trying to use a pair of channel locks. Plus, it can take some time to get the jaws adjusted properly since they don't have a lot of movement. I bought these thinking they would replace my adjustable wrenches but now I carry both.
I actually typically carry the pliers wrench and an adjustable as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 09:32 AM   #34
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,947
Couple more....

https://www.milwaukeetool.com/Produc...tening/2101-22

https://products.wera.de/en/bits_hol...s_800_4_z.html

https://products.wera.de/en/screwdri...fort_1335.html
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 09:59 AM   #35
JordanCClark
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JordanCClark is offline
 
JordanCClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 581
I have a set of Wiha Hex Keys that have a ring on the ball end to hold the head of the screw

https://www.wihatools.com/magicringr...y-22-piece-set
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 10:02 AM   #36
mylespetro
Supporting Member
Canada

mylespetro is offline
 
mylespetro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NS
Posts: 686
I also have a bunch of Wera screwdrivers, both standard size and precision, as well as the Kraftform Kompact multi-bit:

https://products.wera.de/en/kraftfor..._28_kk_25.html

Personally my favourite multi-bit, although it's not great for panel work. The Wiha PicoFinish precision screwdrivers are excellent as well, nice rubbery texture on the handle.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 10:23 AM   #37
widelto
Member
Colombia

widelto is offline
 
widelto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Barranquilla, Colombia
Posts: 3,211
I learnt this one here but since I saw it the first time I never looked the other way.

https://www.netsetman.com/en/freeware

Network setting manager.
__________________
My two cents.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 10:42 AM   #38
alan_505
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

alan_505 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 804
I have one of these screwdrivers works well it has 2 torque settings.
https://www.wihatools.com/speede2

I also have one of these, the electric screwdriver uses the same bits and you can get a big range of bits in all types.
https://www.wihatools.com/insulated-...t-screwdrivers
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 11:07 AM   #39
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 1,064
Geniusintraining beat me to it....I love this tool milwaukee hand screwdriver... With torque setting building panels, checking connections.......many other uses.

Also this cabling stripping tool. Weidmuller and Phoenix i think make these. When using machine cables this makes life so much easier and more precise
Attached Images
File Type: png milwaukee_hand_screwdriver.PNG (142.9 KB, 59 views)
File Type: png weidmuller_cable_stripper.PNG (117.3 KB, 65 views)

Last edited by chud; December 3rd, 2021 at 11:20 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 11:21 AM   #40
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 2,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLand View Post
Thanks Nathan, I'll check that out.

For me, AngryIP still is mega useful to scan entire networks to find potentially open IPs. It's great for customers who want to add some Ethernet devices but their documentation is non-existent.
Let me know what you think of it after trying out.
I was a long time AngryIP user, but now totally spoiled by Slitheris Network Scanner.
Not only MAC address, but the OS and build it is running, type of device (linux, windows, printer, voip, etc), brand of device, uptime, even the time on the remote computer/device...and even more.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8vHhgh6oM0&t=2s
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 11:22 AM   #41
JordanCClark
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JordanCClark is offline
 
JordanCClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 581
Since my job has shifted into more SCADA-y things, primarily Ignition, I stared with DBeaver, a cross-platform database tool.

https://dbeaver.io/

I've since moved over to JetBrains' IntelliJ / PyCharm / Datagrip tools, as I can add IDEs for Java and Python in one spot.

https://www.jetbrains.com/datagrip/
https://www.jetbrains.com/idea/
https://www.jetbrains.com/pycharm/
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 11:25 AM   #42
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 1,064
Jesper also did mention a very good tool when working with networks.....esp siemens and profinet Siemens Proneta.
I have commisioned a few plant remotely with this tool installed on a local technicians laptop. Very handy
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 12:27 PM   #43
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,118
Favourite has to be my CF-3000

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_v3iIYP2juQ
__________________
Regards,

Patrick G. B.Eng MIET

Making the flashy lights flash since the 90's

SCADA - Inductive Automation Gold Integrator | PLC | Control Panels | Robotics | Training

Connect with Matrix Engineering

My son was chewing on an electrical cord, so I had to ground him. He is doing better currently and conducting himself properly. My electrical skills are quite poor, which is a shock to some people
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 01:19 PM   #44
Elcan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by widelto View Post
I learnt this one here but since I saw it the first time I never looked the other way.
https://www.netsetman.com/en/freeware
Network setting manager.
I used it and I liked it, but one day it stopped working for me because it detected I was using it in a business network.
I moved to "Net Profiles mod", and I'm happy again.
https://github.com/netprofilesmod/netprofilesmod
  Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2021, 01:47 PM   #45
NetNathan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

NetNathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 2,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcan View Post
I used it and I liked it, but one day it stopped working for me because it detected I was using it in a business network.
I moved to "Net Profiles mod", and I'm happy again.
https://github.com/netprofilesmod/netprofilesmod
Yes.. I really like NetSetMan. SO much that I bought full business version.

I will check out Net Profiles mod.
__________________
****Control Freak****
Net is where I be and Nathan is me.
I have a condition called "The Knack".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8vHhgh6oM0&t=2s
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1734-IB8S EDS file jgebhardt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 August 10th, 2017 11:30 AM
Learning PLC using software for simulation & emulation (Virtual environment) TheoPap LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 June 9th, 2016 04:03 PM
Learning PLCs: hardware vs. software background? Albert LaFrance LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 2nd, 2013 02:03 AM
I Need A Plc Hardware And Software banaran LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 27th, 2002 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.


.