HSC help needed on AB micro 1100

jeb974

Is it possible to write to the high speed counter function file "high speed preset" on an AB micro 1100. I have the HSC set up with a MOV instruction . I am using a EA9 HMI and want to be able to change the encoder preset from there. Everything I have tried does not work. However, I am fairly new to programming so that also could be why I can not figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Thanks for the quick reply. I kind of don't understand all of what is going on in the screenshots you provided. As I mentioned I am still a beginner. Is there any way you could explain in steps how to do it?

The process is explained in that link (click here) to the Rockwell 1763-rm001 PDF document.

Everything you need is in Rung 0002. That is where the value in 32-bit Long L9:0 is CoPied-by-Word to the HSC:0.HIP (HI-Preset).

When the program is running, the HSC:0 object contains a PLC-local copy of the counter hardware parameters, i.e. that object does not contain the actual parameters used by the counter hardware.

In order to write the HSC parameters to the actual hardware, you need to copy (or move?) the parameter values into the HSC:0 object, then have HSC:0.SP make a 0-to-1 transition.

On my Rung 0002,

• on any scan when L9:0 is the same as HSC:0.HIP,
  • the [NEQ L9:0 HSC:0.HIP] instruction's output rung will evaluate to False,
  • so the MOVe will not write to HSC:0.HIP,
  • and the OTE will write a 0 to boolean HSC:0.SP;
  • since HSC:0.SP is 0, nothing will be written from the HSC:0 object to the counter hardware.
Again on my Rung 0002,

• On a scan when the value of L9:0 changes,
  • the [NEQ L9:0 HSC:0.HIP] instruction's output rung will evaluate to True,
  • so the MOVe will write the value of L9:0 to HSC:0.HIP,
  • and the OTE will write a 1 to boolean HSC:0.SP;