sequentially turn on lights

mgreen_ATC

I am a beginner with PLCs. I have a Koyo DL205 from AutomationDirect. I want to create a program to light 3 lights turning them on and off sequentially. Ultimately once I get it doing what I want I want to used it to light 3 strings of Christmas lights toggling them on and off for periods of time. Could someone help? I could also use some direction on how to wire the input and output modules.

Please define "to light 3 lights turning them on and off sequentially."

E.g. it sounds like there will be 3 discrete outputs, and each output will have either a value of 1 for on or a value of 0 for off, and you want to see some pattern of the 3 lights for a time, then another pattern, etc., changing over time.

So can you be more specific about the pattern? For example, have light 1 on and the other two off for 10s, then light 2 on and the other two off, then light 3 on and the other two off, then go back to 1 and repeatt, or perhaps reverse then repeat: 1, 2, 3, 2, 1, 2, 4, ... i.e. a bouncing light.

I would assume for the wiring you might need a relay, depending on the power needed to run each set of lights.

I want to turn on 1 light for 10 seconds, turn off
turn on the second light for 10 seconds, turn off
turn on the third light for 10 seconds, turn off
repeat

ok,
you have said what you wanted to do.
questions and hints for you.
what will tell the plc to start the sequence?
also, what command is used to time things?
think of it like this, tell the plc to turn on only 1 light for 10 seconds and then turn off.
when this is done, add the 2nd light and repeat.
then add the third light.

you must break things down into a step by step logic, otherwise, you will be overwhelmed with stuff to do.
look at this link
https://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=907619#post907619
james

There are many ways to achieve this for example: