You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 22nd, 2022, 11:24 AM   #1
TurpoUrpo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Finland

TurpoUrpo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,570
Siemens Simatic AX

So siemens has something modern cooking:

Siemens AX

Key Features and Benefits:
-Fast Error Detection
-Possibility of step-by-step debugging directly in the source code
-Tools for versioning and traceability
-Out of the box integration into GIT technology enables traceability of changes and versioning
-Higher Standardization and Reusability of Software components
-Object-oriented software through the application of OOP in ST
-Modular tooling enables customized workflows
-Assemble the SIMATIC AX modular toolset in a way that it fits your own workflows
-Less implementation time for new libraries
-Creation, testing and maintaining of libraries can be automated
-Use the right programming tool for your team
-Choose SIMATIC AX for code development in ST while keeping the advantages of TIA Portal allowing code generation in FBD (FUP), LAD (KOP)


Who knows something about, I got quite excited about possibility to use VS Code as the IDE and OOP - the main question now is, will they extend OOP so that we got the whole of the cutting edge for ST (even more than codesys/beckhoff is giving) or is it just "OOP The Old Fashioned Siemens Style"?
Attached Images
File Type: png SIMATICAXplore+cite_Overview.png (74.7 KB, 78 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2022, 08:52 AM   #2
TurpoUrpo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Finland

TurpoUrpo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,570
No one?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2022, 09:17 AM   #3
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 2,174
It works with V18, I see..

and V18 was just released

You want someone to say they have been working with it for years?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2022, 09:44 AM   #4
L D[AR2,P#0.0]
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

L D[AR2,P#0.0] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,462
It will keep everyone who does not want to get their hands dirty happy
__________________
S7-300 to 1500 conversions done - email to s7conversions@hotmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2022, 10:57 AM   #5
TurpoUrpo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Finland

TurpoUrpo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRW View Post
It works with V18, I see..

and V18 was just released

You want someone to say they have been working with it for years?
I want to know if someone has seen it in more detail already and what would OOP for example mean in this context, or unittests, how would they enable it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by L D[AR2,P#0.0] View Post
It will keep everyone who does not want to get their hands dirty happy
I don't see that being the case. I welcome more software approach to the plc-programming too. In the end the software has to be anyway ran on the plc connected to the hardware.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2022, 11:29 PM   #6
mk42
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 2,900
I'm really curious also. My guesses:
  • The code is written in VSCode in *some languague* and then compiled into something you can import into Portal via a library.
  • *some language* might be JavaScript, since they talk about npm, and recently utilized that for Unified. Could be it's many languages, could be it's actually ST with extra stuff.
  • The OOP elements must exist entirely inside the exported code. I haven't heard anything about Portal getting OOP code, so you'd be limited to the standard functional programming in/out/inout interface. That said, being able to write OOP code INSIDE an FB, even if the FB itself isn't OOP, is still a cool concept.
  • It says you can do debug. I'd assume the code shows up as knowhow protected in TIA (because TIA only has compiled code, no source), and you do debug in VS Code.
  • I'm curious to see what limitations there are, as something kinda like this is currently possible only in PC based systems or the 1518MFP, where you can write C code that runs in the realtime kernel or independantly. If you can now write JS (or whatever) code for any PLC, that sounds like a wild change.
Unit tests could presumably be done in VS Code the way you would for anything else. However, you can currently use the Test Suite Advanced to do unit tests inside TIA, presumably you could use that to test the system after.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens SIMATIC IT 6.1 software er.pratikagrawal@gma LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 26th, 2019 11:25 AM
Siemens Simatic Manager & TIAPORTAL shazad5444 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 September 14th, 2016 08:05 PM
Problem with my Siemens SIMATIC S7-300, CPU 315-2 DP ayekami LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 9th, 2014 10:15 AM
memory size for Siemens Simatic s5-100u-cpu 103 rrangaprasad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 5th, 2010 01:45 PM
Siemens Simatic s7 totok LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 26th, 2004 11:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 PM.


.