AB SLC 5/03 Programming Trouble

Hipoguy

Hello PLC Community.
I am new to using Allen Bradley PLC's and so far am not enjoying my experience. I currently am running RS Logix 500 Ver 4.00.00 along with RS Linx classic. I am trying to configure communications between an Allen Bradley SL 5/03 Processor and my computer through an Allen bradley RS-232 Cable. I have viwed almost all the tutorials available from PLCS.NET and still am unable to download my program to the PLC. I am reciveing an error everytime I try. The Error Reads " No Response From Selected Path/Node". Please anyone that may have any ideas or information on how to make this work let me know. Thank you to any and all who respond in advance. o_O

The thing I see is you are using a very old version of RSLogix and probably an old version of Linx, what kind of computer are you using?

There may be issues if the OS is above Win9x and does not have a real serial port. Older versions may install on XP but they may not work properly.

Did you configure Linx to use DF1 and match it to the port being used?

Please provide details.

I have gone through the steps as directed by multiple tutorials available to make sure the ports are matched. I am running on a Systemax computer running windows XP. The version of RS Linx I am running is RS Linx Classic which has been recently obtained. In addition to the previous problem when i go into RS Logix and select System Comms > select my created link>Click OK I recieve another error " The Target Node Is Not An SLC-500 or Micrologix controller" Yet in my communications link i do not have it selected as either of these? I completely puzzled due to my unfamiliarity with AB products. I have been an AD user most of my career.

Are you able to see your SLC with RSLinx. ( if not see PDF below for how to)
It would help to post your RSlogix file if you can ( zip it and post)